This Brampton enterprise scholar, 21, has $60,000 in financial savings and a $3,000 TFSA

This Brampton enterprise scholar, 21, has ,000 in financial savings and a ,000 TFSA
This Brampton enterprise scholar, 21, has ,000 in financial savings and a ,000 TFSA


Identify, age: Nitya, 21

Annual revenue: $36,000

Debt: $0

Financial savings: $60,000 in financial savings account; $3,000 in TFSA

What he does: scholar; intern at software program agency

The place he lives: Brampton, Ont.

Prime monetary concern: ”I’d wish to assist my dad and mom – they’ve 20 years to retirement.”

Most individuals don’t have $60,000 of their checking account after a four-year undergraduate program. However that’s precisely the state of affairs Nitya, a software program firm intern and soon-to-be graduate in enterprise administration, finds himself in.

“I needed to be financially impartial and I didn’t depend on my dad and mom to fund my tuition,” says Nitya, who’s on monitor to graduate from a Toronto-area enterprise faculty with a BBA within the spring.

He additionally relied on quite a few scholarships and had paid internships at firms whereas he studied. Throughout a financial institution internship this previous summer season, he labored 10- to 12-hour days, incomes lots of time beyond regulation.

By not accruing scholar debt, Nitya, who lives at dwelling rent-free, allowed his dad and mom to purchase a indifferent four-bedroom dwelling – a significant improve from their earlier home. “We used to reside in a semi-detached townhouse. We purchased a indifferent home in a nicer group with a giant yard,” says Nitya. “My dad and mom purchased it as a result of my schooling bills had been so low.”

When he graduates, he’ll be part of an funding agency as an analyst with a beginning wage of $80,000. With that constant, increased pay cheque, he plans to dramatically improve the quantity he’s funnelling into his tax-free financial savings account. Proper now, he’s investing $1,000 each six months.

Whereas his TFSA funds are at present invested in dividend-paying shares and exchange-traded funds, he wish to be extra aggressive ought to fairness costs fall additional. He can even weigh becoming a member of his future employer’s group registered retirement financial savings plan.

Within the meantime, Nitya hopes to purchase a small automobile to assist his youthful sister get round. And he’d wish to take his household on a visit to Europe earlier than he begins his full-time function subsequent yr.

He’s saving by chopping again on meals on campus, enjoying badminton at his local people centre and happening excursions close to dwelling.

In 5 or 6 years he’d like to purchase actual property with buddies. “I’d wish to get an funding property in London or Cobourg,” he says. He’d additionally like to assist his dad and mom once they retire. “I’d wish to assist my dad and mom – they’ve 20 years to retirement.”

This vacation season, Nitya deliberate to rejoice modestly. “I’m having a small Christmas with buddies,” he says. “I’m cooking moderately than going out.”

His typical month-to-month bills:

Funding and financial savings: $2,534

$2,067 to financial savings.

$167 to TFSA. “I’m in dividend-paying shares and ETFs.”

$0 to RRSP.

$300 to bank card. “I began utilizing a bank card to construct up my credit score earlier in 2021. I at all times repay all of my debt as soon as it’s due.”

Family and transportation: $124.40

$0 to lease. “I actually get pleasure from residing with my dad and mom. I don’t pay lease.”

$50 on cellphone.

$74.40 on transit move. “I made my schedule so I’d have courses on three days, and I wouldn’t spend as a lot cash on journey.”

Food and drinks: $150

$50 on groceries. “My dad and mom purchase a lot of the groceries however I contribute $50. I get pleasure from cooking. I put together burritos, curries. Walmart has been a tremendous retailer. We additionally go to Costco.”

$100 on eating out. “I like consuming out – particularly at burger joints, Subway and Tim Hortons. However this prices some huge cash.”

$0 on espresso, tea. “I make camomile tea at dwelling.”

Miscellaneous: $190.84

$54.17 on clothes. “This previous April I went to Moores and bought a swimsuit and tie – correct work apparel. Final month I purchased garments for my sister.”

$10 to sports activities. “I play badminton at my local people centre and the payment is $3 per hour. Leap-start sponsors this occasion.”

$100 on dental (enamel straightening). “I’m getting Invisalign.”

$10 on subscriptions. “I’ve bought a subscription to The Globe and Mail. I like studying James Bradshaw.”

$0 on books. “I get my books from the native library or discover them on college databases.”

$16.67 ($200 a yr) on holidays. “This previous summer season we went to Algonquin Park twice. We rented a canoe and introduced all of our meals from dwelling.”

Complete: $2,999.24

Some particulars could also be modified to guard the privateness of the particular person profiled. We need to thank him for sharing his story. Are you a millennial or Gen Z who wish to take part in a Paycheque Challenge? Ship us an e-mail.

Are you a younger Canadian with cash in your thoughts? To set your self up for fulfillment and avoid pricey errors, take heed to our award-winning Stress Take a look at podcast.

david bait

Learn More →

Leave a Reply